The Future of Mainstream Media on the Web

  1. #1 by antikamania on November 2, 2010 - 2:51 am

    Great video. I like how you create and tell the story. It’s really a story for me, really enjoy watching it. And, I agree with you point that people go to Twitter for breaking news and Youtube for entertainment. However, I still doubt about in-depth analysis thing. For me, I still look on mainstream media for in-depth information.

  2. #2 by Derek Walker on November 2, 2010 - 1:56 pm

    Thanks, it was fun and a good excuse to use my Halloween costume again. I agree, mainstream media will remain the dominant platform for which people go to for in-depth analysis. But if they don’t adapt and respond to these other emerging platforms they stand to lose a significant portion of their audience.

    • #3 by Nettie on May 18, 2017 - 4:56 am

      Why does this have to be the ONLY reillbae source? Oh well, gj!

  3. #4 by Ingrid Butler on November 2, 2010 - 4:01 pm

    This was FUNNY and informative. What happened to your eyebrow? I’m still LOL! When I want the news, I actually check my Twitter account for my “breaking News” tweets because it covers the entire world news. I don’t need to hear the same news stories told again and again at 4:30, 5, 5:30, etc locally. This is a new way for me to get my information because I was practically raised on The Today Show. Times have changed indeed!

  4. #5 by Inge Scheve on November 2, 2010 - 9:50 pm

    This is both hilarious and clever! Great use of lighting, props and all that. And great analysis too. I, like so many people, have no time, no patience and no attention span, so Twitter is my choice of soundbite news. as opposed to the network soundbite news, I can choose my sources and feeds on Twitter, filter my streams and organize the clutter, tune out the noise and tune in the gems. And I’m still LOL over your iBook that came on and illuminated the future….. Great job!! (and I am endlessly envious of anyone who has figured out how to do text on a video – still need to sit down and learn that…. After – yawn – the required readings in Ryan).

  5. #6 by sara1beth on November 3, 2010 - 7:09 pm

    Holy eyebrows, Batman! I think this is a really fun approach, and perhaps the Great CarMac can follow his own advice and begin Twitter consultations?

    Does he have any stock tips for me?

    • #7 by Derek Walker on November 3, 2010 - 11:19 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I wouldn’t take financial advice from the great CarMac if I were you. He can barely balance his own checkbook let alone give stock tips. Lol.

  6. #8 by anna2009mcdm on November 3, 2010 - 9:23 pm

    hahaha, it was really funny! I laughed hard when saw your one eyebrow was missing. lol
    Great work! I can see you put a lot of effort on this assignment (and Halloween^^)

    I also like the way you conveyed your idea by opening the computer and actually “seeing” what is going on in the future. I have to say, its excellent storytelling!

    • #9 by Nevaeh on May 18, 2017 - 5:39 am

      Smart thkiinng – a clever way of looking at it.

    • #10 by farmers quotes on May 20, 2017 - 10:42 am

      “You’re right and I don’t care. Tell you the truth – I even don’t really believe in communism. I believe in the communists supplying weapons to the PLO. Weapons that will free Palestine. I support whoever is ready to supply them.” That’s it, it hasn’t changed, just the scenery all around changed a bit…

  7. #11 by antikamania on November 3, 2010 - 9:43 pm

    LOL. I didn’t notice your eyebrow was missing until other mentioned it. So I checked the Video again. Is this the way new media work, interactive and collaborate? I’m totally agree that the old mainstream media should adpat themselve to stand in the future. Thanks Derek for the great post.

  8. #12 by Elizabeth on November 3, 2010 - 10:20 pm

    LOL. Love it! Great production. But here is my question, is on-line really it? Is this really how far we’re going to go? News media will move over to a new format and then what?

    • #13 by Derek Walker on November 3, 2010 - 11:24 pm

      It’s a great question. I really think we’re going to see more of a hybrid of on-line media and traditional mass media. TV is too powerful a medium to disappear.

    • #14 by Helene on May 18, 2017 - 5:19 am

      At last, sooneme comes up with the “right” answer!

  9. #15 by Drew Keller on November 4, 2010 - 12:26 pm

    Great conversation and let’s talk about it in class. Some very provocative points and I can’t say I have any more answers than anyone else. Just wild guesses.

    And Derek, I think that costume is now an education expense and you might want to think about using it as a write-off. Just sayin’…

  10. #16 by Danielle on November 4, 2010 - 2:58 pm

    I love this post, great concept of going back and forth between the two characters, don’t worry about the brow, I think the whole thing still looks great. Very well put together.

    I agree with you about the disconnect between what social media users consider news as opposed to what the mainstream media consider to be news. I can only hope that the mainstream maintains (or in some cases gains) integrity by providing meaningful subject matter based on reliable sources. When the Iranian riots broke out it was a huge concern that the mainstream networks turned to Twitter to get their updates, when, in fact, anyone could tweet anything they want – without any obligation of reporting real truths. Hopefully, in the future, we will be able to mesh the two platforms (social media and mainstream media) in an effective, appealing, and qualified nature.

    • #17 by Derek Walker on November 4, 2010 - 5:21 pm

      I completely agree that the two platforms need to mesh together. We talked about that a bit in last night’s class with Hansen. If mass media and social media can feed off each other it could be a powerful combination.

  11. #18 by lilismiling on November 4, 2010 - 3:57 pm

    It is really a good storytelling piece. LOL. Very interesting. I like the way how you tell stories. Your idea are convincing too in the video.

    • #19 by Lainey on May 18, 2017 - 4:37 am

      PÅ™edchozí verze byla uživatelsky pÅ››v­ÄÃtivÄ™jsí, jednodušší a pÅ™ehlednÄ›jší (práce s textem, pÅ™ehled rozhodnutých i vyhlášených vÄ›cí). Chybí mi pÅ™ehled vÄ›cí pÅ™edložených rozšířenému senátu (dosud nerozhodnutých). Původní verze mÄ›la být o nové funkce jen doplnÄ›na a nikoli nahrazena.Kamil Tojner

  12. #20 by evanwestmedia on November 4, 2010 - 5:40 pm

    I guess I’m not the only magician in the class! You really should just wear this costume every day. Stick with being the one eyebrow psychic routine.

Leave a Reply

