Preliminary Term Project Thoughts

Choosing a topic for a class project is always the most difficult part of the process for me. A blank slate is almost foreboding in that a poorly chosen topic can result in a poorly presented project. That being said, once chosen, the research of said topic usually takes me on an interesting, unpredictable journey that results in not only a successful project, but an amazing learning experience as well (which of course is the whole point of a school project).

I know that I want to focus on film and video; the history of it, how it has evolved and where it’s going; but I also want to focus on a specific industry. Naturally, I am drawn to the ski and snowboard industry and I think it could make for an interesting presentation. I also wonder about broadening my scope and focusing on outdoor sports as a whole.

Initially, I will research successful outdoor sports filmmakers such as Warren Miller and Teton Gravity Research. Warren Miller is an icon in the action sport filming industry and has directed and produced over 750 sports films and over 50 of which are feature length. Teton Gravity Research, an extreme sports film production company has produced 28 feature length films, numerous television series and short films that are distributed over the web. By researching these filmakers and other like them I hope to gain insight into how the action sports industry as evolved over the years, where it is heading in the future and what influence advances in technology will have over production and distribution.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

